Event Detail

February 10, 2021: Dr. Ngozi Ezike and Dr. Allison Arwady to Receive Motorola Solutions Foundation Excellence in Public Service Award presented by the Civic Federation

Event on February 10, 2021


The Civic Federation is pleased to announce that Dr. Ngozi Ezike and Dr. Allison Arwady are co-recipients of the 29th Annual Motorola Solutions Foundation Excellence in Public Service Award, presented and administered by the Civic Federation.

The Excellence in Public Service Award is an annual recognition of a non-elected government official (or in this case, officials!) who has had an extraordinary impact on the quality of state or local government services in Illinois.

For only the second time in 29 years the Motorola Advisory Committee has unanimously agreed to honor two equally deserving public servants. We look forward to celebrating the distinguished careers and exemplary public service contributions of Dr. Ezike and Dr. Arwardy on Wednesday, February 10.


Healthcare workers, first responders and government employees receive complimentary "Guest" registration, using the link above.


  • Opening remarks and welcome - Civic Federation President Laurence Msall and Chair Monica Mueller
  • Special remarks and presentation of the awards - Cynthia Yazdi, Motorola Solutions
  • Video tribute to Dr. Ezike, followed by Dr. Ezike's remarks
  • Video tribute to Dr. Arwady, followed by Dr. Arwady's remarks
  • Keynote discussion - Dr. Ezike and Dr. Arwady with special guest moderator Dr. Julie Morita, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • Closing remarks - Civic Federation President Laurence Msall

Click here to order commemorative face masks and support PrideMasks, a local, mission-driven business working to help address the shortage of NIOSH-certified clinical masks for healthcare workers. Partner Sponsors: please contact the Civic Federation for information about how to receive your 12 complimentary masks.







Past Honorees

2019    Dorval Carter, President, Chicago Transit Authority

2018   Jamie Rhee, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Aviation

2017   Arnold Randall, General Superintendent, Cook County Forest Preserve District

2016   Karin M. Norington-Reaves, CEO, Chicago Cook Workforce Partnership

2015   Karen Tamley, Commissioner, Chicago Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities

2014   Rocco Claps, Director, Illinois Department of Human Rights

2013   Rosemarie S. Andolino, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Aviation

2012   Julie Hamos, Director, Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services

2011   Margaret C. Daley, Former First Lady, City of Chicago

2010   James R. Reilly, Trustee, Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority

2009   Judy Erwin, Executive Director, Illinois Board of Higher Education

2008   Arne Duncan, CEO, Chicago Public Schools

2007   Ron Huberman, President, Chicago Transit Authority

2006   Lori Healey, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Planning and Development

2005   Shirley Madigan, Chair, Illinois Arts Council

2004   Terry Peterson, CEO, Chicago Housing Authority

2003   James Joyce, Commissioner, Chicago Fire Department

2002   Pam McDonough, Director, Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs

2001   William Holland, Auditor General, State of Illinois

2000   Mary Dempsey, Commissioner, Chicago Public Library
           Audrey McCrimon, Assistant to Secretary, Illinois Department of Human Services

1999   Lois Weisberg, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs

1998   Paul Vallas, CEO, Chicago Public Schools

1997   Jess McDonald, Director, Illinois Department of Children and Family Services

1996   Richard Wagner, Director, Illinois Board of Higher Education

1995   Robert Belcaster, Chairman, Chicago Transit Authority

1994   Ruth Rothstein, Director, Cook County Hospital

1993   Mary Decker Laraia, Director, Cook County Capital Planning

1992   Sister Sheila Lyne, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Health