Support our Work  Member Login

Call for Nominations: The 24th Annual Motorola Solutions Foundation Excellence in Public Service Award

Nominations due September 21, 2015

Monday, September 21, 2015 - 5:00am

The Civic Federation is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the 24th Annual Motorola Solutions Foundation Excellence in Public Service Award.

The Excellence in Public Service Award recognizes a non-elected government employee in Illinois who has made an extraordinary impact on the quality of government services in state and local governments. The award seeks to honor individuals who show dedication to a vision of quality management, leadership and innovation that leads to lasting achievements and more effective government.

Individuals eligible for nomination are non-elected state or local government officials, including department heads and chiefs of staff. Nominees must be currently serving in a non-elected position in state or local government.

Past honorees include Illinois Department of Human Rights Director Rocco Claps, City of Chicago Department of Aviation Commissioner Rosemarie Andolino, Director of the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services Julie Hamos, the Former City of Chicago First Lady Margaret C. Daley, United States Secretary of Education Arne Duncan and past Chicago Transit Authority President Ron Huberman.

To nominate a candidate, email the nominee’s name, title, government and email address, along with a brief description of the nominee’s achievements, to [email protected] We encourage any details or observations that go beyond standard career or biographical highlights. Nominations can also be sent via U.S. Mail to:

Attention: Outstanding Public Servant
The Civic Federation
10 N. Dearborn St. Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60602

If requested, nominations can be confidential. The deadline for nominations is September 21, 2015, and the awards breakfast will take place later this year. For more information, please visit

The Motorola Solutions Foundation is the charitable and philanthropic arm of Motorola Solutions. With employees located around the globe, Motorola Solutions seeks to benefit the communities where it operates. The company achieves this by making strategic grants, forging strong community partnerships and fostering innovation. The Motorola Solutions Foundation focuses its funding on public safety, disaster relief, employee programs and education, especially science, technology, engineering and math programming. For more information on Motorola Solutions Corporate and Foundation giving, visit

The Civic Federation is an independent, non-partisan government research organization that promotes efficient delivery of public services and sustainable tax policies in the Chicago region and State of Illinois.  For more information, please visit the Federation’s website at

Past Honorees

2014   Rocco Claps, Director, Illinois Department of Human Rights

2013   Rosemarie S. Andolino, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Aviation

2012   Julie Hamos, Director, Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services

2011   Margaret C. Daley, Former First Lady, City of Chicago

2010   James R. Reilly, Trustee, Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority

2009   Judy Erwin, Executive Director, Illinois Board of Higher Education

2008   Arne Duncan, Chief Executive Officer, Chicago Public Schools

2007   Ron Huberman, President, Chicago Transit Authority

2006   Lori Healey, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Planning and Development

2005   Shirley Madigan, Chair, Illinois Arts Council

2004   Terry Peterson, Chief Executive Officer, Chicago Housing Authority

2003   James Joyce, Commissioner, Chicago Fire Department

2002   Pam McDonough, Director, Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs

2001   William Holland, Auditor General, State of Illinois

2000   Mary Dempsey, Commissioner, Chicago Public Library
           Audrey McCrimon, Assistant to Secretary, Illinois Department of Human Services

1999   Lois Weisberg, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs

1998   Paul Vallas, Chief Executive Officer, Chicago Public Schools

1997   Jess McDonald, Director, Illinois Department of Children and Family Services

1996   Richard Wagner, Director, Illinois Board of Higher Education

1995   Robert Belcaster, Chairman, Chicago Transit Authority

1994   Ruth Rothstein, Director, Cook County Hospital

1993   Mary Decker Laraia, Director, Cook County Capital Planning

1992   Sister Sheila Lyne, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Health