Support our Work  Member Login

The 17th Annual Motorola Excellence in Public Service Award Luncheon

Honoring Chicago Public Schools CEO Arne Duncan

Thursday, November 6, 2008 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm

Palmer House Hilton Chicago, IL

Motorola and The Civic Federation honored the outstanding public service of Chicago Public Schools Chief Executive Officer Arne Duncan with the 17th Motorola Excellence in Public Service Award. The award recognizes a non-elected state or local government employee who has made a positive impact through extraordinary leadership, teamwork and innovation. Over 400 of Chicago's business, civic, and government leaders joined event Co-Chairmen and past Motorola honorees Paul Vallas, Ruth Rothstein, Pam McDonough, Terry Peterson, and Jess McDonald to celebrate Mr. Duncan's achievements in improving education in Chicago. A choir from Martin Luther King, Jr. College Prep High School and audio visual students from Marie Curie High School participated in the event.

Arne Duncan accepts the Motorola Excellence in Public Service Award

Jack Molloy, Vice President for the Government and Commercial Markets Division of Motorola, presents the 2008 Motorola Award to Arne Duncan

Many past recipients of the Motorola Award and members of the 2008 Motorola Award Advisory Committee attended the luncheon. First row (L to R): Paula Wolff, Pam McDonough, Jack Molloy, Karen Duncan, and Barbara Stewart. Second row (L to R): Laurence Msall, Paul Vallas, Eileen Sweeney, Terry Peterson, Arne Duncan, Ruth Rothstein, Jess McDonald, Philip Hale

Dr. Robert H. Jordan, Jr., anchor for the WGN News, gave a welcome address to begin the luncheon

The Martin Luther King, Jr. College Preparatory High School Concert Choir performs for luncheon guests