

Steven H. Abbey

Allan Ambrose*

Adrienne Archia*

Murray E. Ascher*

Alicia Mazur Berg

Abel E. Berland Ö

David A. Abel Catherine Adduci

The Civic Federation

177 North State Street, Suite 400, Chicago, IL 60601 • 312.201.9066 fax 312.201.9041 • www.civicfed.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact: Laurence Msall, 312-201-9044

Officers

Thomas McNulty, Chairman A.G. Anglum, Vice Chairman Mark Davis, Vice Chairman Thomas Livingston, Vice Chairman Joseph B. Starshak, Treasurer Laurence J. Msall, President Lise Valentine, Vice President

JOHN F. SANDNER AND ABBOTT TO RECEIVE CIVIC FEDERATION AWARDS FOR OUTSTANDING CIVIC LEADERSHIP

(CHICAGO) The Civic Federation will honor the civic achievements of an exceptional Chicagoan, John F. Sandner, and an extraordinary corporate citizen, Abbott, at the organization's Annual Civic Awards Luncheon on Thursday, June 10, 2010.

John F. Sandner, Retired Chairman and Member of the Executive Committee of CME Group, Inc., will receive the prestigious Lyman J. Gage Award for Outstanding Civic Contribution. The award, which was first given to Alan Greenspan in 1982, honors an individual who has demonstrated a singular commitment to civic and community concerns.

"It is a great honor for the Civic Federation to present the Gage Award to a man who has given so much to the City of Chicago," said Laurence Msall, president of the Civic Federation. "He is a legend not only to the futures and options community but also to the many civic and charitable organizations he leads, such as the Cancer Institute at Rush University Medical Center, where he serves as Chairman."

Mr. Sandner also encourages civic engagement among his associates, especially through the Amicus volunteer organization he founded at CME. Amicus volunteers provide over 1,000 hours of community service annually to agencies throughout Chicago.

Miles D. White, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, will accept the Addams-Palmer Award for Exemplary Civic Involvement on behalf of Abbott, a global, broad-based health care company. The Addams-Palmer Award is named for two of the founders of the Civic Federation, Jane Addams and Bertha Honoré Palmer, and is awarded annually to a corporation that has advanced the civic well-being of the Chicago area.

"For over 120 years, Abbott has dedicated itself to helping people across the globe live longer and healthier lives," said Msall. "Abbott also has a strong commitment to improving the health of Chicago's greatest cultural treasures through the Abbott Fund, its foundation. The Field Museum, the Lyric Opera, and the Museum of Science and Industry, among many others, are stronger today thanks to Abbott's generosity."

Both awards will be presented at a luncheon at the Palmer House Hilton Grand Ballroom to be attended by over 500 of Chicago's civic and business leaders. City of Chicago Treasurer Stephanie D. Neely will give the Salutation Address. Tickets for this year's event and reception may be obtained by visiting www.civicfed.org/events or by contacting PJH & Associates at 312.553.2000.

The Civic Federation would like to thank luncheon co-chairmen Lester Crown, W. James Farrell, Andrew J. McKenna, and J. Christopher Reyes for their phenomenal leadership of this event.

The Civic Federation is an independent, non-partisan government research organization founded in 1894. The Federation's membership includes business and professional leaders from a wide range of Chicago area corporations, professional service firms, and institutions.

Brian Bernardoni Roger Bickel J.D. Bindenagel Aileen Blake Douglas H. Cameron Whitney Carlisle Robert J. Christie Richard A. Ciccarone* Jerry Cizek 🖄 Nancy J. Clawson Elizabeth G. Coolidge Amy Anderson Day Kevork Derderian 🌣 Julian C. D'Esposito Jon B. DeVries Thomas H. Donohoe Martin L. Eisenberg Brian D. Fabes Timothy J. Faerber Timothy Fair Stephen Friedman Charles R. Gardner* Carol W. Garnant 🔅 Sarah Garvev^{*} Anthony Gedeller Ronald J. Gidwitz Peter G. Glick Judith A. Gold* Andrew F. Gottschalk* Patrick Hagan* Philip Hale M. Hill Hammock Albert C. Hanna Patricia M. Holden Bruce T. Hopple Margaret Houlihan Smith Lorna Brett Howard James H. Kane William Ketchum Thomas J. Klutznick James Kranic* Stephen Legatzke Michael A. Lovett William Mack* Glenn Mazade Susan McKeever* Eileen Mitchell* Fred Montgomery* Timothy E. Moran Monica M. Mueller Michael E. Murphy 🌣 Bert Nuehring* Michael F. O'Brien Holly O'Connor Gregory O'Leary Robert Pasin Dorice Pepin Donovan Pepper Bruce Rauner Alexander I. Rorke Scott Saef 🌣 John Sciaccotta James E. Spiotto* Carvn Stancik Barbara Stewart 🜣 Eugene S. Sunshine Theodore M. Swain* Kent A. Swanson Courtney Thompson Thomas Vanden Berk Robert Vihon* Sue E. Wallace* John F. Ward Jeffrey D. Warner Andrew Weil Jerrold Wolf Philip Zinn* *Executive Committee

Past Chairmen's Council