Board of Directors Steven H. Abbey David A. Abel Catherine M. Adduci Allan Ambrose* A.G. Anglum* Adrienne Archia* Murray E. Ascher* Alicia Berg Brian A. Bernardoni Roger Bickel J.D. Bindenagel Douglas H. Cameron Whitney Carlisle Timothy L. Christen Robert J. Christie Richard A. Ciccarone* Jerry Cizek III☆ Nancy J. Clawson Lew Collens Elizabeth G. Coolidge Mary Culler Omar Daghestani Kevork M. Derderian 🌣 Julian C. D'Esposito Jon B. DeVries Thomas H. Donohoe Martin L. Eisenberg Brian D. Fabes Timothy J. Faerber Timothy Fair Stephen B. Friedman Charles R. Gardner* Carol W. Garnant 🌣 Sarah Garvey* Anthony Gedeller Ronald J. Gidwitz Peter G. Glick Judith A Gold* Andrew F. Gottschalk* Patrick J. Hagan* Philip Hale M. Hill Hammock* Albert C. Hanna David Hickerson Patricia M. Holden Bruce T. Hopple Margaret Houlihan Smith Lorna Brett Howard Lori Igleski Bennett Johnson III James H. Kane William Ketchum Jim Kranje* Betsy LaVelle Stephen Legatzke Michael A. Lovett William Mack* Glenn Mazade Thomas McNulty\$ Fred H. Montgomery* Timothy E. Moran Monica M. Mueller Michael E. Murphy 🌣 Bert Nuehring Michael F. O'Brien Holly O'Connor Gregory O'Leary Sarah Pang Robert Pasin Dorice Pepin Donovan Pepper Moira Pollard Bruce V. Rauner Alexander I. Rorke Scott Saef ☆ John C. Sciaccotta Patrick Sheahan James E. Spiotto* Carvn Stancik Barbara Stewart 🌣 Eugene S. Sunshine Theodore M. Swain* Kent A. Swanson* Courtney A. Thompson Allen Truesdell Thomas C. Vanden Berk Robert S. Vihon* Daniel Wagner Sue E. Wallace* John F. Ward☆ John L. Ward Jeffrey D. Warner Andrew L. Weil Jerrold Wolf William Young Philip Zinn*

The Civic Federation

177 North State Street, Suite 400, Chicago, IL 60601 • 312.201.9066 fax 312.201.9041 • civicfed.org

August 3, 2011

IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media contact: Sarah Wetmore, 312-201-9042

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS THE 20th ANNUAL MOTOROLA SOLUTIONS FOUNDATION EXCELLENCE IN PUBLIC SERVICE AWARD

The Motorola Solutions Foundation and the Civic Federation are pleased to announce a call for nominations for the 20th Annual Motorola Solutions Foundation Excellence in Public Service Award.

The Excellence in Public Service Award recognizes a non-elected government employee in Illinois who has made an extraordinary impact on the quality of government services in state and local governments. The award seeks to honor individuals who show dedication to a vision of quality management, leadership and innovation that leads to lasting achievements and more effective government.

Individuals eligible for nomination are non-elected state or local government officials, including department heads and chiefs of staff. Nominees must be currently serving in a non-elected position in state or local government.

Past recipients of the Motorola Award include Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority Trustee Jim Reilly, United States Secretary of Education Arne Duncan and past Chicago Transit Authority President Ron Huberman. Other notable recipients include past Chicago Public Schools CEO Paul Vallas and Illinois Auditor General William Holland.

To nominate candidates, email the nominee's name, title, government and email address, along with a few sentences describing the nominee's achievements, to outstandingpublicservant@civicfed.org. Nominations can also be sent via U.S. Mail to:

Attention: Outstanding Public Servant
The Civic Federation
177 N. State Street, Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60601

If requested, nominations can be confidential. The deadline for nominations is August 31, 2011, and the awards breakfast will take place later during the autumn.

For more information, please visit the Civic Federation website, <u>www.civicfed.org</u>, and click "Events."

The Motorola Solutions Foundation (formerly the Motorola Foundation) is the charitable and philanthropic arm of Motorola Solutions. With employees located around the globe, Motorola Solutions seeks to benefit the communities where it operates. The company achieves this by making strategic grants, forging strong community partnerships and fostering innovation. Founded in 1953, the Motorola Solutions Foundation focuses its funding on public safety, disaster relief, employee programs and education, especially science, technology, engineering and math programming.

The Civic Federation is an independent, non-partisan government research organization founded in 1894. The Federation's membership includes business and professional leaders from a wide range of Chicago area corporations, professional service firms and institutions. For more information, please visit the Federation's website at www.civicfed.org.



Officer

Thomas Livingston Chairman
Mark Davis Vice Chairman
Susan McKeever Vice Chairman
Eileen Mitchell Vice Chairman
Joseph B. Starshak Treasurer
Laurence J. Msall President
Lise Valentine

*Executive Committee

Past Chairmen's Council